Music Report

CHR – Vipology News Hounds

Amber Riley Sings Beyoncé’s ‘Freedom’ During Protest at LA Mayor’s Home

On Tuesday, June 2nd, Chika, Zendaya, Kehlani, SZA, Lizzo and more artists gathered outside LA Mayor Eric Garcetti’s home for a peaceful protest led by Black Lives Matter co-founder Patrisse Cullors, BLM LA’s chapter head Melina Abdullah and Insecure actor Kendrick Sampson.

This sit-in demanded to defund the police following the murder of George Floyd, a Black man who was murdered by police in Minnesota last week. The peaceful protest also celebrated Black art with a spirited electric slide dance and an empowering live performance by Glee actress Amber Riley, who covered Beyoncé’s Lemonade highlight featuring Kendrick Lamar “Freedom.”

All four officers involved have now been charged in the case regarding Floyd’s murder.

Check out a clip Riley’s performance below.

Amber Riley singing “Freedom” outside LA Mayor Eric Garcetti’s house. #BlackLivesMatter #DefundThePolice #ProsecuteKillerCops

— eric, at home (@MrEAnders) June 3, 2020

Photo Credit: Ron Adar /

Viewing page 1 of 20|Next Page